Top 10 Tuesday: Books that Make You LOL

Welcome to another addition of Top 10 Tuesday!  While writing this I realized I don’t really read funny books.  Like ever.  My personal bookshelf doesn’t contain a single happy-go-lucky feel-good or laugh-out-loud book.  Lots of murder mysteries and George R.R. Martin though.  (Not sure what that says about me… O.O)

Luckily, my professional bookshelf is another story!  One of the occupational hazards of working with kiddos is you end up reading a lot more kidlit than grown-up books.  And that’s okay because heck, a lot of times they’re a lot more fun!  This week I bring to you…

top 10 LOL sm

(Picture Book Style)

Here they are, in no particular order:

monsterbook

1. The Monster at the End of this Book by Jon Stone

It doesn’t get any better than this classic!

pigeonbus

2. Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus by Mo Willems

Did I say things couldn’t get better?  I LIED!  Pigeon is the ultimate awesome funny character.  Plus you can read a bunch of books about Pigeon’s silly stories!  (All of Mo Willems’s work is worth reading, by the way).

everyone ready for fun

3. Is Everyone Ready for Fun? by Jan Thomas

The funniest farm animal picture book I know (and also my favorite farm animal book overall).  I think I burst out laughing after every page!

cowboyoctopus

4. Cowboy and Octopus by Jon Scieska and Lane Smith

Talk about the dynamic duo!  I love everything these two put together.  This funny tale of friendship is one of my favorites though.

notmyhat

5. This is Not My Hat by Jon Klassen

It’s funny and it’s a Caldecott.  What more needs to be said?  Go read it now and grab the prequel while you’re at it- I Want My Hat Back.

munschalligatorbab

6. Alligator Baby by Robert Munsch

It was a toss-up for me between this gem and The Paper Bag Princess, but I think this book gets my little ones giggling a bit more.

childrenpets

7. Children Make Terrible Pets by Peter Brown

They really do, don’t they?  You moms and dads amaze me.  I love kids but having to hang out with one all the time every day… whoa.  *makes sign of cross to ward off evil*

motherbruce

8. Mother Bruce by Ryan T. Higgins

This is one my favorite newer funny stories.  It’s also absolutely adorable!

crayonsquit

9. The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt (yes, that’s Oliver Jeffers illustrating!)

Not only is this book funny, it also gets you thinking about life from another perspective.

all my friends are dead

10. All My Friends are Dead by Avery Monsen and Jory John (NOT for kiddos!)

Speaking of perspective, this little beauty of a book is both a funny and sad look at some of life’s harsh realities, such as:

end tables

Honorable Mentions:

Little Owl Lost by Chris Haughton

Is There a Dog in this Book? by Vivian Schwarz

Gilbert Goldfish Wants a Pet by Kelly DiPuchio

Turkey Trouble by Wendi Silvano

Who’d I miss?  What’s making you LOL right now?  Don’t forget to link up at The Broke & the Bookish this week!

One thought on “Top 10 Tuesday: Books that Make You LOL

Leave a Reply

