Flannel Friday: My Lunch Box

This is another fun guessing game that you could do with a lunch box and food props or with this flannel set!  It goes great with a box or food/lunch storytime theme.

I got the idea from an awesome old book/CD set from Creative Teaching Press: Fall Phonemic Awareness.  Unfortunately it’s no longer in print.  I’ve included the original song version.  The second is my own spin on the lyrics.

my lunch box.gif

My Lunch Box (Version 1)

To the tune of “Yankee Doodle”

My lunch box holds some yummy treats
Which food is my favorite?
It starts with sand- and ends with -witch
A sandwich- now I’ll eat it!

My lunch box holds some yummy treats
Which drink is my favorite?
It starts with mmm- and ends with -ilk
My milk- now I’ll drink it!

My lunch box holds some yummy treats
Which food is my favorite?
It starts with ch- and ends with –ips
Some chips- now I’ll eat them!

My lunch box holds some yummy treats
Which food is my favorite?
It starts with cook-and ends with –ees
Some cookies- now I’ll eat them!

My Lunch Box (Version 2)

To the tune of “Yankee Doodle”

My lunch box holds some yummy treats
Which food is my favorite?
It’s made of bread and a peanut butter jelly spread…
A sandwich- now I’ll eat it!

My lunch box holds some yummy treats
Which food is my favorite?
It’s yellow and long and eventually turns brown
A banana- now I’ll eat it!

My lunch box holds some yummy treats
Which food is my favorite?
They’re yellow and crunchy and oh so salty…
My chips- now I’ll eat them!

My lunch box holds some yummy treats
Which drink is my favorite?
It’s white and smooth and good for you…
My milk- now I’ll drink it!

My lunch box holds some yummy treats
Which food is my favorite?
It’s round and brown and the last thing to go down…
A cookie- now I’ll eat it!

____

Credit: inspired by Kimberly Jordano, Fall Phonemic Awareness Songs & Rhymes

Pattern: available here, clipart from My Cute Graphics

Don’t forget to check out the other fun flannels at this week’s round up!  The Flannel Friday blogFacebook page, or Pinerest page are also great resources.  🙂

About Jessica F

I'm a former teacher turned library lady! These days I tutor, blog, sing in storytime (okay all the time), read books, drink excessive amounts of Mountain Dew and go to grad school.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flannel Friday: My Lunch Box

  1. Pingback: Flannel Friday Round Up for March 24th |

  2. Pingback: Donuts, Bacon, and Chocolate OH MY! – Favorite Foods Storytime | Miss Mariah's Library

Leave a Reply

