Flannel Friday: Fall Is Not Easy & A Fun Twist

515ne3do2al-_sx366_bo1204203200_

I FINALLY made a Fall is Not Easy flannel! I feel like I’ve leveled up as a children’s librarian.

If you haven’t been exposed to this book before, it’s a fun, silly story that makes an even better flannel. It’s all about a tree that much prefers the other seasons to fall.

Winter is easy – its branches are bare.

20181018_113408

But autumn… well, that’s a different and much more difficult matter!

20181018_113445

The kiddos LOVE shouting “NO!” as the tree tries to find the right color. I pause and encourage them to tell me the right fall color, then frustrate them by doing something silly again. After all, you SAID the leaves turn yellow…

20181018_113514

What do you mean no? These leaves are yellow, red, orange, and green. Just like you said they should be!

20181018_113534

Eventually I have the kiddos tell the tree very slowly and carefully what to do. I’ll tell you more about why I like to put individual leaves up for this part a little later.

20181018_113557

Alas! Just as the tree gets it right, the wind blows all the leaves off. Bummer.

20181018_113615

Now for the fun game! I mentioned putting up the leaves one at a time. I do this because I hide an acorn behind one of the leaves. That way, we can roll right into a guessing game or return to the tree a little later and play.

“Acorn, acorn, where could you be?

Are you buried underneath the RED leaf?”

(repeat with other colors)

_____

Credit: original

Aha! There it is! Those sneaky squirrels. Never know what you’ll find in a pile of leaves…

20181018_113626

As you can probably tell because they’re all different sizes, I free-handed the treetops. I used a die cut at work for the individual leaves and this free printable template from First Palette for my tree trunk:

treetrunk2

This is such a fun story! I especially love how easy it is for storyteller’s to add their own unique spin – I can’t wait to add more silly treetops! What are your tips and tricks for telling Fall is Not Easy? Would love to know below!

Click here to see how I used this flannel in a fun fall Family Storytime.

3 thoughts on “Flannel Friday: Fall Is Not Easy & A Fun Twist”

Leave a comment